- Loire Valley's Heritage -

1.1. Gastronomic Heritage

Loire Valley and Touraine are also known as the Garden of France. Since long, its silty basin supplies excellent fresh produce, with the Villandry or Gaillard Castle gardens being remarkable witnesses of this culinary wealth. There can be found local varietals of apples, pears, strawberries and Sologne’s green asparagus, as well as Berry’s green lentil.

Safran from the Gâtinais is another excellent example of Centre-Val-de-Loire gastronomic heritage: produced since the reign of Louis XIV, it was for a longtime a reference and was widely coveted all over the world.

The local gastronomic tradition is also represented by its 5 AOC goat cheeses: Pouligny Saint-Pierre to be appreciated with a glass of AOC Reuilly; Selles-sur-Cher marvelously accompanied by a glass of AOC Montlouis; Sainte-Maure de Touraine to be tasted with a glass of red AOC Chinon; Valençais in agreement with a galss of a wine of the same name (AOC Valençais red or white); and the Crottin de Chavignol (but also the Bouchon de Sancerre) to sublimate a white AOC Sancerre. The cow cheeses are not left behind, like the Olivet au Foin or Cendré with a wine Coteaux du Giennois, the Petit Trôo cheese perfectly paired with an AOC Bourgueil, and the Curé Nantais tasted with a glass of AOC Muscadet or an AOC Gros Plan du Pays Nantais. Loire Valley’s cows also produce milk for butter, notably the AOP Charentes-Poitou butter.

We can’t forget about breeding, with remarkable examples being the Géline chicken, the grey Rabbit and the Touraine goose. This goose (oie) breed used to be eaten in the richest European tables, like when Elizabeth 1st banqueted in it after defeating the Spanish Armada, resulting in the Ois de Saint Michel tradition. In Touraine, the Oie de Saint Martin celebrates the date when Saint Martin became a bishop, and the Oie des Vendanges celebrates the end of grape harvest.

Touraine also produces rillettes, a kind of cooked then shredded and fat preserved meat (generally pork, but also poultry, rabbit, game, fish…). Rabelais writes about it as “brown pork jam”, and Balzac praises Tours rillettes in his “The Lily of the Valley”. In “In Search of Lost Time”, Proust recalls the reputation of not only the rillettes, but also of rillons de Touraine (pork chops), called rillauds in the Anjou.

Loire Valley doesn’t lack in sweetness, neither: the honey from the Gâtinais and the confectionery like Nougat of Tours and the dried pears of Rivarenne are well known since the middle ages. The Pralines of Mazet were already being appreciated on the tables of Louis XIII, and the Quince jams of Orléans were Francis 1st favorite sweetmeat.

1.2. Loire Valley's Architectural Heritage

1.2.1. Castles

Most castles in Loire were medieval fortresses, like the royal fortress of Chinon, and evolved from a defensive role to royal residences during the Renaissance (Amboise, Blois…), when new residence castles were built by some of the most powerful people in the kingdom (Chenonceau, Azay-le-Rideau…), including the king Francis 1st in Chambord.

Château d’Amboise
The powerful fortress of Amboise from Louis XI and XII was transformed into a residence by Charles VIII and Francis 1st. The court and a great number of illustrious figures and artists spent there some time invited by the sovereigns, the greatest example being Leonardo da Vinci who was buried in its Park and later transferred to the Park’s Chapel. Francis 1st often appreciated the local wines Coteaux d’Amboise.

Château d’Azay-le-Rideau
This castle was built in 1518 by Gilles Berthelot, Tours mayor and the Francis 1st’s Treasurer, who confiscated in 1523 the unfinished work to offer it in 1535 to one of his brother-in-arms, Antoine de Raffin, the King’s Bodyguards Captain during the Pavia incursion, at the expense of Berthelot’s widow, Philippa Lesbahy.

In 1905 it became property of the French State, and was classified as a Historical Monument.

Château de Blois
It was one of the favorite residences of the Kings of France during the Renaissance, and it is a true synthesis of the Architecture and History of Loire Valley’s castles. Four aisles of different styles and a monumental staircase united around a single courtyard offer a panorama of the French architecture from the Middle Ages to the Classical epoch.

The showcasing of the royal apartments and their restored polychrome décors, furniture and paintings recall the daily life of the Court and power at the Renaissance. The private cabinet of Francis 1st or the royal chambers of Cathérine de Médicis and Henry III, where the Duc of Guise was assassinated in 1588, are impregnated with major historical events of the History of France.

Château de Chambord
The Chambord Castle was the jewel and dream of Francis 1st and his friend Leonardo da Vinci, at the heart of a forest and park of the same name. The King made a grape he imported from Burgundy to be planted around the premises, originally transplanted to his mother’s castle of Romorantin: the Romorantin varietal is today the exclusive grape of the AOC Cour-Cheverny. This is the largest Loire Valley castle, with 426 chambers, 282 chimneys, and its famous double helix staircase. It has been registered under the UNESCO list of Heritage sites since 1981.

Le Château de Chenonceau
Impressive by its architecture and location, it is also called the “Ladies Castle”. Originally built by Thomas Bohier under the supervision of his wife Catherine de Briçonnet. This gentleman gave his brother-in-law, the Abbot of Cormery, some grape plants from Anjou that would be planted at Montchenin and become the varietal Chenin blanc.

Today Chenonceau is a private open museum, and owes its name to a succession of Dames that marked the life of the place: Catherine Briçonnet, Diane de Poitiers, Catherine de Médicis, Louise de Lorraine, Louise Dupin and Marguerite Pelouze. In the middle of a delightful park and filled with magnificent ancient furniture, it is the most visited private museum of France.

Château de Cheverny
Cheverny is known for having served as inspiration for Hergé’s Château de Moulinsart, of Tintin’s fame. Built from 1620 on by the architect Jacques Bougier, it is an early example of Classical French. It has one of the most extraordinary private collections of ancient furniture of France, and it is situated in the middle of a beautiful park. The Marquis and Marquise of Vibraye’s family have been owning Cheverny for 600 years, and it has been open for visits for a while now.

Château de Chinon
The Royal Fortress of Chinon dominates the city and the Vienne river, nested above a rocky spur. Progressively the space was divided in three different aisles later called “the three castles” by the Kings, which appear as three towers in the city’s crest.

From east to west, the spur is divided by dry pits, enclosing three “castles”: the Coudray fort; the Middle castle; and the Saint-Georges fort. Each has an independent wall protecting against the other ones. The Middle one is the location of the main Chambers and the Saint-Melaine priory.

Chinon was the Royal Citadelle of the Plantagenets, Kings of England and Counts of Anjou. Henry III Plantagenet liked the Pineaux d’Aunis so much that he made it planted and to stock and send it to England.

On 1429 March 9th, at Chinon, a 17 years old girl met the Prince of France (future Charles VII). Joan of Arc promised this day that she would escort him to his Coronation at Reims.

The city is also intimately linked with François Rabelais (1494-1553), one of the most important writers of the Renaissance. Born in Seuilly, not far from Chinon, he probably described in his magnum opus Pantagruel the very same Caves Painctes under the heart of Chinon that today host the Union of Wine Producers of Chinon and the Brotherhood of “Rabelaisian Good Drinkers” that pay him homage during its gatherings.

Clos Lucé
The Castle of Clos Lucé, called in the old times Cloux Manoir, is a residence in the city of Amboise built in 1471 as an old fiefdom linked to the Amboise Castle, that passed onto many hands until it was bought by Charles VIII, becoming a royal Summer residence. It was used for this role until 1516 when Francis 1st offered it to Leonardo da Vinci, who will live there for 3 years before his passing on 1519 May 2nd.

The monument became under National protection in 1862, related to Da Vinci’s history.

Owned by the Saint Bris family since 1855, today it is dedicated to discovering the Italian Master’s universe.

Château-Gaillard
This is a royal domain built by Charles VIII after the first war in Italy in 1496.

Neighbouring CLos Lucé and Château d’Amboise, it is built on an open terrace, exposed to the south and protected from the north winds by an abrupt concavity in the Châteliers spur (above which the Amboise Castle is located), forming a 20 meters high cliff, inhabited by the building, that creates a microclimate comparable to the italian ones, allowing for the first French transposition of the Italian style of gardening.

It was a “lab” for the French Renaissance: first acclimating garden of France with the first Royal Orangery, the first French Renaissance garden created by Dom Pacello da Mercogliano, and the creation of the first axial landscaping perspective as well as the first parterre “à la française”. It entered the list of National Monuments in 1963.

Château and Gardens of Villandry
The castle was built by Jean le Breton, Finance Minister of Francis 1st. He used his large exceptional experience, earned in numerous worksites like Chambord which he supervised and directed for long years under the King’s wishes. By his arrival in 1532 at Villandry, he decided to raze the old medieval fortress except its dungeon, witness of the meeting between a victorious Phillipe-Auguste, King of France, and Henry II Plantagenêt, King of England, who signed the treaty of Colombiers two days before his death. .

Castle and gardens are unique testimonies of its peers of the French Renaissance.

Abbey of Marmoutier
On the right bank of the Loire upstream from Tours, Marmoutier is an old benedctine abbey. Founded by Saint Martin, bishop of Tours since 372, he would have planted the first vines of Chenin blanc, by the same act founding the tradition of the vineyards of Vouvray. The abbey knew its apogee during the middle ages and its premises extended for a big part of France and even England, until being dismembered during the French Revolution. Bought back by the Sisters of the Sacred Heart, the buildings were restored and new ones built to establish a private school still active today.

1.2.2. The Troglodyte Cellars of the Loire Valley or Troglos

The troglodyte habitat is a kind of residence dug in the stone. The troglo in Loire Valley has two main origins.

One was to become part of ordinary people’s homes. The other came after the building of the castles and other constructions based on the tuffeau rock, that gave result to a large number of quarries under the slopes, which were refurbished into different uses: mushroom growing, silkworm growing and wine stocking and aging. In time they became mostly occupied by winemakers.

After the Revolution, a tax on the doors and windows was instated. This instigated common people to take refuge in the rock, eliminating a great number of openings thus paying less taxes. These troglos of modest origins are today often turned into B&Bs and hostels.

1.3. The Great Characters of Loire Valley

The Chenin blanc varietal developed throughout the Loire Valley where it was called “plant of Anjou” in the 10th Century. In Touraine it was named “Pineau de la Loire” like found in Rabelais’ Gargantua book from the 16th Century “Oh the fine white wine from Pineau! upon my conscience, it is a kind of fine sweet wine”.


What client say?

Ministère de l'intérieur - L.CH

Par le présent message et au nom de notre direction générale, je tenais tout particulièrement à vous remercier pour l’accueil qui a été réservé à notre délégation le 16 mai 2019 lors de notre visite aux Caves DUHARD. Ce déplacement au sein de votre magnifique domaine était un ravissement pour l’ensemble de nos délégués qui ont apprécié l’accueil qui leur a été réservé. Ce moment privilégié passé au sein de votre cave a concouru à véhiculer une excellente image de la France auprès de partenaires étrangers attachés à toutes ces valeurs. En vous renouvelant nos remerciements pour l’ensemble de ces attentions, je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur Mineau, l’expression de ma considération distinguée.

Dégustation

Accueil très sympathique, expérience oenotouristique plus qu'intéressante, possibilité d acheté vins, salaisons et huiles produites dans la région.... à faire !

Very Nice

Impeccable hosting and welcoming ! Interesting visit and tpo of the notch tasting ! We recommand the detour. It was a real present...ideas for celebrations and holidays!

What a happiness !

To do absolutely, at least to know a rather rare job. The visit was nice, but the tasting was totally extraordinaire. Advice, anecdotes, good time with good wine. The Loire Wines are not the most known, and that is a shame ! The Caves Duhard should make you change your mind. Go there if only just for an hour of pure pleasure shared with passionate people !

Super

It changes of the habitual visits. Thanks to them, I learned to taste the wine like a pro. Thank you. Very good products to taste with very pleasant persons.

Nice cave !!!

Really nice cave, really good hospitality, tasting with anecdotes on wines and its heritage!!! Really good visit.

Informed advice and nice choice of flasks

A visit of the caves followed by a wine tasting with informed advice and a little bit of cheese to munch on between each glasses. Explanations of tasting and on the aging of the wines. Nice choice of old bottles, perfect to offer oneself wines of a particular year. Reasonable rates.

- Le patrimoine du Val de Loire -

1.1. Le patrimoine gastronomique du val de Loire

Le Val de Loire et la Touraine sont aussi connus sous le nom Jardin de la France. Depuis longtemps le bassin limoneux de la Vallée de la Loire fournit d’excellent maraichage. Les Jardins de Villandry et Château Gaillard en sont encore aujourd’hui des témoins marquants. On citera, les pommes, les poires, la fraise et l’asperge verte de Sologne, les carottes de sable, poireaux et autres choux, ainsi que la lentille verte du Berry.

Le safran du Gâtinais est un autre exemple de l’excellence gastronomique du Centre-Val de Loire. Produit depuis Louis XIV, il a longtemps été la référence et donné le cours mondiale.

La tradition gastronomique du val de Loire passe aussi par ses fromages, 5 fromages de Chèvre AOC. Le Pouligny Saint Pierre AOC à apprecier avec un AOC Reuilly, le Selles-sur-Cher AOC merveilleux accompagné d’un AOC Montlouis, le Sainte Maure de Touraine AOC à déguster avec un AOC Chinon Rouge, le Valençay AOC en accord avec le vin du même nom (AOC Valençay Blanc ou Rouge), et le Crottin de Chavignol AOC mais aussi le Bouchon de Sancerre pour magnifier un AOC Sancerre Blanc. Les fromages au lait de vache ne sont pas en reste, comme l’olivet au foin ou cendré avec un Coteaux du Giennois, le Petit Trôo parfait avec un AOC Bourgueil ou le Curé Nantais s’apprécie avec un AOC Muscadet ou un AOC Gros Plan du Pays Nantais. Les Vaches de la Vallée de la Loire produit aussi du lait pour fabriquer du beurre, notamment le Beurre AOP Charentes-Poitou.

L’élevage n’étant pas en reste avec la Géline, le Lapin gris et l’Oie de Touraine qui était mangé sur les plus grandes tables d’Europe, comme celle la reine Elisabeth 1ère lorsqu’elle apprit que sa flotte avait défait les espagnoles, qui donna l’oie de la St Michel. En Touraine, l’Oie de la St Martin commémore l’élévation au statut d’évêque de celui qui deviendra St Martin, et l’Oie des Vendanges fête la fin de celle-ci.

La Touraine est aussi le berceau des rillettes, Rabelais en parle comme de la « brune confiture de cochon », et Balzac exalte encore les rillettes de Tours dans Le Lys dans la vallée, Proust évoque la réputation des rillettes de Tours dans la Recherche du temps perdu. Dans le même registre, les rillons de Touraine, appelés rillauds en Anjou, ne sont plus à vantés.

La Vallée de la Loire ne manque pas non plus de douceur, le miel du Gâtinais et les confiseries comme le Nougat de Tours et les poires tapées de Rivarenne y sont réputées depuis le moyen-âge. Les Praslines Mazet étaient déjà sur la table de Louis XIII et le Cotignac d’Orléans la friandise préférée de François 1er.

1.2. Le patrimoine architectural du Val de Loire

1.2.1. Les châteaux de la Loire

Les châteaux de la Loire étaient pour la plupart d’entre eux au départ des forteresses médiévales (Forteresse royale de Chinon). Pendant la période troublée du moyen-âge, ils avaient donc une vertu défensive, et ont évolué en domaines royaux à la renaissance (Amboise, Blois…). C’est aussi à cette période que certains grands personnages du royaume se font construire leurs propres châteaux (Chenonceau, Azay-le-Rideau,…), et que François 1er construit Chambord.

Le Château d’Amboise
La puissante forteresse médiévale d'Amboise des rois Louis XI et Louis XII, est transformée en une résidence royale par les Rois de France Charles VIII et François Ier. La Cour, nombre de lettrés et d'artistes européens y sont passés à l'invitation des souverains à l'exemple de Leonardo da Vinci qui reposait dans le parc du château et dont les restes se trouvent aujourd’hui dans la Chapelle du Château. François Ier y appréciait le vin frais et gourmand des Coteaux d’Amboise.

Le Château d’Azay-le-Rideau
Le Château d’Azay-le-Rideau est construit en 1518 par Gilles Berthelot, maire de Tours et trésorier du roi François 1er. Celui-ci confisque le chef œuvre inachevé en 1523 pour l’offrir en 1535 à l'un de ses compagnons d'armes, Antoine de Raffin, capitaine des gardes du corps du Roi lors de la bataille de Pavie, au dépens de Philippa Lesbahy (veuve de Gilles Berthelot).

Il devient en 1905 la propriété de l’état français et est classé aux monuments historiques.

Le Château de Blois
Le Château Royal de Blois est une des résidences favorites des Rois de France à la Renaissance. Il est une véritable synthèse architecturale et historique des Châteaux de la Loire. Quatre ailes de styles différents et un escalier monumental réunis autour d'une même cour, offrent un panorama de l'architecture française du Moyen Age à l'époque Classique.

La mise en valeur des appartements royaux et de leurs magnifiques décors polychromes restaurés, les meubles et les tableaux présentés évoquent la vie quotidienne de la Cour et le pouvoir à la Renaissance. Le cabinet privé de François Ier ou encore les chambres royales de Catherine de Médicis et de Henri III, où fut assassiné le Duc de Guise en 1588, sont imprégnés des évènements majeurs de l'Histoire de France.

Le Château de Chambord
Le château royal de Chambord est le joyau, rêve de François 1er et de son maître des fêtes et ami Leonard de Vinci, au cœur du domaine d’un parc forestier du même nom. François 1er fit planté aux alentour un cépage qu’il avait importé de Bourgogne, à l’origine pour le Château de sa mère Louise de Savoie à Romorantin, qui lui donne aujourd’hui son nom : le romorantin qui est toujours le cépage exclusif des viticulteurs de l’appellation Cour-Cheverny. Le château de Chambord est connu pour être le plus vastes des châteaux de la Loire avec 426 pièces, ses fameuses 282 cheminées, ainsi que son escalier à double révolution. Il est inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO depuis 1981.

Le Château de Chenonceau
Le château de Chenonceau, aussi appelé « château des dames », émerveille par son architecture est son emplacement. Il a été construit par Thomas Bohier sous la supervision de sa femme Catherine Briçonnet. Celui-ci transmis à son beau-frère  l'abbé de Cormery, au manoir du Montchenin quelques pieds de plants d’Anjou qui donnera par la même le chenin blanc.

Il est toujours aujourd’hui une demeure privée, et doit son surnom à la succession de dames qui y ont séjourné : Catherine Briçonnet, Diane de Poitiers, Catherine de Médicis, Louise de Lorraine, Louise Dupin ou encore Marguerite Pelouze. Au cœur d’un parc enchanteur, et pourvu d’un magnifique mobilier, il est aujourd’hui le château privé le plus visité de France

Le Château de Cheverny
Le château de Cheverny est connu pour avoir servi d’inspiration à Hergé pour déssiner le château de Moulinsart. Construit à partir de 1620 par l'architecte Jacques Bougier, il est précurseur dans le style classique à la française. Ce château meublé au cœur d’un merveilleux parc est la propriété du marquis et de la marquise de Vibraye, dont la famille possède le domaine depuis 600 ans.

Le Château de Chinon
La forteresse royale de Chinon, de son éperon rocheux domine la Vienne et la ville. Au fur et à mesure l’espace a été structuré en trois parties distinctes, que les rois ont appelé leurs « trois châteaux », figurant de manière stylisée sous la forme de trois tours sur les armoiries de la ville.

D’ouest en est, la barre rocheuse est barrée par une série de fossés - des douves sèches - qui séparent les trois châteaux : le fort du Coudray, le château du Milieu, et le fort Saint-Georges. Chacun d’entre eux possède une enceinte indépendante. C’est dans le château principal, le château du Milieu, que sont situés les principaux logis et le prieuré Saint-Melaine.

Elle était citadelle royale des Plantagenets, rois d’Angleterre et comtes d’Anjou. Henri III Plantagenet y apprécia tellement les pineaux d’Aunis locaux, qu’il en fit planter pour en stocker et en envoyer en Angleterre.

Le 9 mars 1429, une jeune fille de 17 ans, y rencontra le dauphin de France (futur Charles VII). Jeanne d’Arc jura ce jour-là quelle le conduirait à Reims pour qu’il y soit sacré.

Chinon est aussi intimement lié à François Rabelais (1494-1553), un des plus grands écrivains de la Renaissance. Né à Seuilly, non loin de Chinon, il pourrait désigner dans son Ve livre, le « Temple de la Dive Bouteille » dans les mêmes caves Painctes situées au cœur de la cité, aujourd’hui siège du Syndicat des vins de Chinon où la Confrérie des Bons Entonneurs Rabelaisiens lui rend hommage lors de ses Chapitres.

Le Clos Lucé
Le château du Clos Lucé, ou autrefois appelé manoir du Cloux, est une demeure du Val de Loire, dans le centre d'Amboise. Batti en 1471 comme un ancien fief relevant du château d'Amboise, il passe de mains en mains jusqu’à être acheté par Charles VIII et de devenir une résidence d’été des rois de France. Il gardera cette fonction jusqu'en 1516 quand François Ier le met à la disposition de Léonard de Vinci, qui y vivra trois ans, jusqu'à son décès le 2 mai 1519

Il est inscrit au titre des monuments historiques par la liste de 1862, en tant que maison de Léonard de Vinci. Propriété de la famille Saint Bris depuis 1855, il est aujourd'hui un lieu dédié à la découverte de l'univers de Léonard de Vinci.

Il est la propriété de la famille Saint Bris depuis 1855.

Le château Gaillard
Le Château-Gaillard est un domaine royal réalisé pour Charles-VIII après la première guerre d'Italie en 1496.

Voisin du Clos Lucé et du Château d'Amboise, le Château-Gaillard est édifié sur une terrasse dégagée. Exposé au sud et abrité des vents du nord par une vaste concavité abrupte de l’éperon des Châteliers (sur lequel est le Château Royal d’Amboise) formant une falaise d’une vingtaine de mètres de haut, ce site possède un microclimat comparable au climat méridional, et permit la première transposition française du jardin à l'italienne. Il fut un « laboratoire » de la Renaissance française : premier jardin d'acclimatation en France avec dont la première de orangerie royale française, le premier jardin de la Renaissance française créé par Dom Pacello da Mercogliano et la réalisation de la première perspective paysagère axiale ainsi que les premiers parterres « à la française ». Le logis royal de Château-Gaillard est inscrit au registre des monuments historiques en 1963

Châteaux et Jardins de Villandry
Le château est construit par, Jean Le Breton ministre des finances de François Ier. Il y exploite son exceptionnelle expérience de l’architecture acquise sur les nombreux chantiers dont celui du château de Chambord qu’il a surveillé et dirigé pendant de longues années pour le compte de François 1er, roi de France. A son arrivée à Villandry en 1532, il rase l’ancienne forteresse féodale à l’exception du donjon, témoin de l’entrevue du 4 juillet 1189 au cours de laquelle Henri II Plantagenêt d’Angleterre reconnaît sa défaite face à Philippe-Auguste, roi de France, et signe le traité dit « la Paix de Colombiers » deux jours avant de mourir.

Château et Jardins de Villandry sont un témoignage unique de l’architecture et des jardins de la Renaissance.

L’Abbaye de Marmoutier
L'abbaye de Marmoutier, sur la rive droite de la Loire en amont de Tours, est une ancienne abbaye bénédictine. Fondée par Saint Martin, évêque de Tours, peut-être dès 372, il y aurait planté les premiers pieds de chenin blanc, donnant naissance par la même occasion au vignoble de Vouvray. L'abbaye connut son apogée au Moyen Âge et ses dépendances s'étendaient dans une bonne partie de la France médiévale et même en Angleterre. Elle fut démembrée à la Révolution française. Rachetés par les sœurs du Sacré-Cœur, les bâtiments furent restaurés et certains construits pour y mettre un établissement d'enseignement privé toujours en activité.

1.2.2. Les caves troglodytiques du val de Loire ou troglos

L’habitat troglodytique est un type d’habitation creusé dans la roche. Le troglo en val de Loire a deux origines principales.

La construction des châteaux de la Loire et autres édifices architecturaux à base de tuffeau, a donné naissance à d’immense carrière souterraine. Elles ont été réutilisée pour divers emplois : champignonnières, la culture des champignons ; magnaneries, l’élevage de vers à soie ; et caves, le stockage et l’élevage du vin. Ces anciennes carrières sont aujourd’hui pour la plupart des caves dédiées à la bonification du vin.

Après la révolution, une taxe sur les portes et fenêtres fût instaurée. Celle-ci poussa certaines personnes très modestes à se réfugier dans la roche, supprimant par la même un maximum d’ouverture dans leurs habitations. Ses troglos, d’origines modestes, sont aujourd’hui souvent transformés en gites et autres maisons d’hôtes.

1.3. Les grands personnages du Val de Loire

Le chenin blanc s'est développé dans la Vallée de la Loire où il est nommé « plant d'Anjou » vers le Xème siècle. En Touraine, il prend son nom de « Pineau de la Loire » comme l'écrit Rabelais au XVIème siècle dans Gargantua « c'est vin pineau, O le gentil vin blanc et, par mon âme ! Ce n'est que vin de taffetas ».


What client say?

Ministère de l'intérieur - L.CH

Par le présent message et au nom de notre direction générale, je tenais tout particulièrement à vous remercier pour l’accueil qui a été réservé à notre délégation le 16 mai 2019 lors de notre visite aux Caves DUHARD. Ce déplacement au sein de votre magnifique domaine était un ravissement pour l’ensemble de nos délégués qui ont apprécié l’accueil qui leur a été réservé. Ce moment privilégié passé au sein de votre cave a concouru à véhiculer une excellente image de la France auprès de partenaires étrangers attachés à toutes ces valeurs. En vous renouvelant nos remerciements pour l’ensemble de ces attentions, je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur Mineau, l’expression de ma considération distinguée.

Dégustation

Accueil très sympathique, expérience oenotouristique plus qu'intéressante, possibilité d acheté vins, salaisons et huiles produites dans la région.... à faire !

Très sympa!

Accueil impeccable! Visite intéressante et dégustation au top! Nous recommandons le détour . C'était un cadeau ... idée pour les fêtes !

Mais quel bonheur!!

A faire absolument, au moins pour connaitre un métier plutôt rare. La visite est déjà sympa, mais la dégustation est carrément extra. Des conseils, des anecdotes, du bon temps avec du bon vin. Les vins de Loire ne sont pas les plus réputés, et c'est bien dommage! Les caves Duhard devraient vous faire changer d'avis, allez-y, ne serait-ce que pour passer 1 heure de pur plaisir partagé avec des passionnés !

Super

Ça change des visites habituelles Grace à eux j'ai appris à déguster le vins comme une pro merci Très bon produits à déguster avec des personnes très agréables.

Jolie cave!!!

Très belle cave très bon accueil dégustation avec anecdotes sur la vinification et l'histoire du patrimoine vinicole!!!! Très belle visite.

Conseils avisés et joli choix de flacons

Visite des caves suivie d'une dégustation avec des conseils avisés et un petit peu de fromage à grignoter entre les verres. Explications de dégustation et sur le vieillissement des vins. Beau choix de vieilles bouteilles parfait pour s'offrir des vins d'une année particulière. Tarifs raisonnables.